Scratches

All Citroen Aircross related discussions
dbizal

Post by dbizal »

Hey all...

So being a new driver I really thought it would be me bashing up my car, however after leaving it in a car park in Brighton someone has obviously scraped up against it and just driven off...

The scratches are about an inch or so long, I've tried the water over the top to see if they disappear however they do not... so assuming the worst - see pictures below:

Any advice on what I should do next? Should I wash and T-cut it to see if they aren't as deep as I think they are, or should I take it in for repair?

Thank you in advance for any help :)

Danny.

2.jpg

1.jpg

Juan Sheet

Post by Juan Sheet »

If it's the clear coat, you can use something like scratch repair paste, that polishes it out. I bought some 'Mantis' paste some years ago and keep a few tubes for minor scuffs - it works on clear plastics too.

If it's deep, then you may need something like a scratch cover pen that fills it with a lacquer like liquid that you can polish over when it's set.

It's a pain in the rear when this happens. Somebody did the same to me in a supermarket, but actually reversed out along the front and rear doors and the alloy. Had to have it done on the insurance in the end as it needed painting and a new wheel and trim. We no longer park in these tight car park spaces - opting to park else where with more room and wheel the shopping there!
dbizal

Post by dbizal »

Juan Sheet wrote: Fri Jun 24, 2022 8:11 pm If it's the clear coat, you can use something like scratch repair paste, that polishes it out. I bought some 'Mantis' paste some years ago and keep a few tubes for minor scuffs - it works on clear plastics too.

If it's deep, then you may need something like a scratch cover pen that fills it with a lacquer like liquid that you can polish over when it's set.